I Mean No Disrespect

For better understanding you may want to read About This Blog first.

Dear Reader,

Thank you for stopping by and having a peek at my site.

If you have read any of my posts you may express some concern over any humor I may put into my writings on such a sensitive topic as suicide. And if you are one who has lost a child or loved one to suicide or any other means I know it is an emotional and heart-rending experience.

I want to take the opportunity to say this, if you find my humor distasteful or offensive, I apologize.  I mean no disrespect.

I could very well be writing from a different vantage point in my healing process as yourself. I have had over six years to get to a place where I am able to talk about my experiences of my son’s suicide openly and hopefully as honestly as possible.

Adding humor to my posts makes it easier to write from my heart. Hopefully it makes the subject matter more palatable.

I know how hard it is to come to terms with such tragedy. I know the stigma associated with the way our son has died. I know the pain, the grief, the heartache, the anger, the confusion and all the other emotions that well up inside. Its like having our own personal tsunami building up and crashing on the shores of our hearts day after day.

It may seem like it will never end and I am not sure it does completely but I can say this. Time heals. I don’t think there is any other way.

It’s going to bed at night with a heavy heart and waking up in the morning prepared to fight the battle just one more day. You get through that “one more day” and you prepare for the next. You wonder if it will ever cease.

The good news is, there is relief.  I promise you, as long as you are willing to put one foot in front of the other, one day at a time and not give up you will be a survivor of your child’s death.

I know this because I am a survivor.

Bless you,

Sammy

Leave a Reply

